Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Would you hire an independent midwife?

2»

Replies

• I think plenty of women do have good birth experiences on the nhs - what I was trying to say is that I don't think the way our maternity hospitals are run - target led etc - do anything to enhance a woman's birth experience. I just remember overwhelming feelings of being out of control.

Oh I see what you're saying, yes, sorry. As a teacher I would probably draw a similar parallel with state schools (ie there are lots of good ones but the target-led culture and staffing issues in some areas/subjects do their reputation as a whole no good at all).

I bet that for every bad experience there are hundreds of good ones, though - but people so rarely seem to take the time to officially record these in the way they do complaints. It's such a shame!
  • I don't think I would, but again that's based on my experience. My birth was hideous but the midwives were great. I actually trusted them more than the doctors... Can you hire an independent doctor?
  • No I wouldn't. I had a complicated labour but the midwives were wonderful. I had one with me all the time pretty much. She was lovely!! The only fault I had was the after care. They were clearly understaffed though tried their best. I ended up taking painkillers from home and didn't get much help when I was struggling to breastfeed. Although next time I would just be more prepared for that.

• I bet that for every bad experience there are hundreds of good ones, though - but people so rarely seem to take the time to officially record these in the way they do complaints. It's such a shame!