Forum home Babies Baby

sometimes i can't stand my baby...

That's the most awful thing to ever think, but it's how i feel.
I've only felt like this for the last couple of weeks. I love my baby so much, he's so gorgeous, and clever, and I'm really proud of him and how he's developing.
But sometimes i feel like i can't stand him. He's whiny, and clingy and he just annoys the hell out of me. Sometimes i wish i could just run away from him.
I don't think it's normal to feel like this, is it? Are we just going through a rough patch?
I don't deserve such a gorgeous baby if i'm having these kinds of thoughts.

Replies

• i'm no expert just a newish mummy, and i think with being so tired and hormones all over the place youre bound to feel stressed and fed up, please dont feel you dont deserve him, you just need a bit of me time, have you got anyone to help out or just sit with him while you go into another room and have a cuppa or something? i don't think anyone could admit to not being annoyed at times with tears and baby tantrums it's hard work and a major shock to the system.
    please dont take offence but have you spoken to your hv or dr, could it be a touch of pnd? i really hope there are some mummies who can give you better advice, i just wanted you to know that you're not alone and not to be so hard on yourself, i really hope you are feeling better soon, take care of yourself
  • how old is ur lo?
  • He' s 17 weeks and i've had the pnd tests, and they came back fine.
    I don't feel depressed or down - i've just developed such a quick temper, i even shout at the baby when he's screaming. It's not like me at all.
    Maybe just sleep deprivation? He's never slept much through the night....
    But i've got plenty of energy, i'm sleeping fine, when given the chance, i'm eating fine - basically not showing any of the normal depression symptoms you would expect, so i'm not sure it could be pnd....