Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Returning to Work

I am hoping for some advice or experiences, please image

My little lady is six months old, and I am currently deciding whether to return to work. I really do appreciate that I am very lucky to be in a position where this is a choice, so please don't think this isn't the case!

Originally, I had intended to become a SAHM but am now wondering whether to return in September when Grace turns one. I'm a bank manager, but can return on a 3 day week basis. In many respects, I hate the prospect of leaving Grace, however having looked at a few nurseries, one in particular seems fantastic.

We had another look around yesterday, and I left Grace for a while and watched her via the CCTV in the manager's office. She had a fab time. Generally, she is very sociable and I wonder whether a stimulating environment in a good nursery would be best for three days of the week, and four days with me. They have so many different activities, and I think it may be that some time at nursery would be better for her as there is much more variety and learning opportunities that I feel I could provide.

In addition, I suffered from post traumatic stress after Grace's birth and a touch of PND and wonder if some 'me' time would be a good thing, or not.

The nursery is expensive, so my decision will not be financially motivated as I will have little left over! I have to decide quickly, as there is only one space left and a deposit of almost ??1000 (eek) is required so I can't change my mind easily!

Has anyone been in a similar position, and willing to share their experiences, please?

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Em x

Replies

• Hi