Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Black out blinds for nursery

Hi

I am new to Baby expert. I am due on 16th May and hoping that it will come on time. I have everything ready in the nursery but i have been reading the Gina Ford Contented baby. It says that a baby's room should be in total darkness. I do have shutters over the windows which do a great job, but there is a tiny gap and i am worried that it will wake baby up during day sleeps. Am i worrying over nothing or do you think black out blinds are the way forward just in case?

Your advice would be appreciated

Kerry

Replies

• Options
    I wouldn't worry about it too much. Even with blackout blinds you still get a wee bit of light peeping from round the sides or top & bottom. I would imagine your shutters are better than any blackout blinds.
    To be honest, daytime sleeps need to be in daylight with normal background noise etc, bedtime at night is in darkness with real quiet. It helps them learn the difference between day and night quicker and believe me - you'd rather the baby slept well at night than in the day!
    xx
  • Options
    Hi Kerry,

Joe was a May baby and we've always had blackout blinds in his room, he's 3 this time and still has them! That said his rooms have always been quite bright whereas yours sounds dark already. My advice would be to see how you go on without one cos you can always get one at a later date. Just a word of warning with blackout blinds, we found that when we went away when he was smaller he struggled to settle as the room was so much lighter than he's used to. He's fine now but when he was smaller it was hard work!

Good luck with your baby!!
    Zoe
    xx
  • Options