Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Going Swimming

hi, i want to take my baby swimming in a couple ov weeks... the only problem is the smallest pair of nappy trunks are 11lb n he is ust over 8lb now...Does any one no where i would find any smaller trunks/swim nappy?
Also what bouyancy aids would you use on a baby as armbands would be nearly as big as him...n cant find a small enough bouyancy vest?
swxx

Replies

• Options
    My lo started swimming at 6 weeks! Try www.swimbabes.co.uk for a small swim nappy, you use a disposible swim nappy (which will be far to big!) and then the swimbabes nappy over the top. It might be worth buying him a baby wetsuit as lo's get cold very quickly even in water that feels warm to you. I wouldn't bother with a bouncy aid, just keep hold of him as he will feel safer that way. Have fun, Kerry xx
  • Options
    Hello, I'm a swimming teacher and I would recommend that you don't bother with any bouyancy aids for a while. You will probably just hold him, and then use a floaties baby seat. Also - take a little dressing gown for when he gets out, so you can wrap him up quick - and by the time youve got back to the changing room hes be mostly dry. You could try the swim shop, i can't remember their website but they are in Luton and will send anything ordered really quickly. I wouldn't worry too much, it is really unusual that babies poo in the pool, but whatever you do get make sure it is tightish round his legs so stop any leakage. i wouldn't waste my time with a vest either (even though hes not big enough yet) They are really akward and when he gets able to move around on his own - you start then to take the floats out, then you are left with big pockets of material for the water to drag. I would use a seat when he is a little bigger then a rubber ring - early learning centre do rings with small middles in and buy some double channel