Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

FAO beebee

Hi Beebee,

Im studying for a social science degree. I started off studying Y157 a 10pt course and probably set aside a day a week (about 7hrs) to do the work. Usually with the introductory 10pt courses you dont have any tutorials just a weekly phone call with your tutor to make sure you've done the work and to see if you have any problems or questions etc. My next course was level 1 DD100 60pts which is so interesting. I studied about 10hrs a week cos i worked FT but i think its recommended that you set aside 16hrs. Those 2 were completed pre-baby. I finished DD100 oct06 when i was 4 months pregnant and decided not to study another after lo was here, which is why ive just started studying ED209 child development level 2 60pts. Again youre supposed to do 16hrs a week study so because my oh is studying with the OU aswell our study nights are mon,tues,thurs and fri. we try not to work at weekends so we get to be with joshua.

I would say its more about the quality of study that you do rather than the quantity. Im really bad, i work better under pressure so often leave things to the last minute but i dont think with a level 2 course i'll be able to do that this time!

Also its not recommended that you study more than 1 60pt course at a time, so it may take you longer than 3 yrs to get your degree. Saying that i have heard of people doing this and they seem to cope ok but i personally couldnt esp working and looking after lo + studying.

What course are you thinking of studying first? x :\) :\)

[Modified by: Vicky&Joshua on 30 January 2008 19:58:51 ]

[Modified by: Vicky&Joshua on 31 January 2008 13:07:10 ]

Replies

• Options
    Hi Vicky, thanks for the post.