Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Anyone retrained as a teacher?

Has anyone retrained as a teacher? I currently work in IT but my job isnt very exciting and Im worried how we are going to cope when my lo goes to school. Who is going to look after him during the holidays?! I have never really thought about teaching before but its something im looking into. However I dont know if I am capable of it so I was just looking for opinions from anyone who has retrained or is currently a teacher. What is it like? Do you enjoy it? My big issue is that I would drop almost ??10,000 pa if I were to become a teacher, do you think it would be worth it?

Thanks image

Replies

• Options
    I'm a primary school teacher and I thoroughly enjoy my job, however went straight into it, didn't retrain. I know for primary and think it's same for secondary, you need GCSE maths, english and science grade c or above. For Primary you need a 2:1 honours degree at most places or for secondary it's a 2:2.
    I'm not going to lie, the training was a tough year but worth it. I guess re pay only you can decide, but the pay scale has a relatively good progression, and you would also save on childcare in the holidays I guess, (although nursery our lo has name down for does not give any discount for the fact I have 6 wks off in the summer etc, still have to pay whether he goes in or not!)

Overall though I love the job, wish there was less paperwork, but I think most people would say that of their jobs!! Any other Q's just ask!!
  • Options