Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Baby sleeps constantly during feeds

Hello

I am new to this whole bf life as Max is nearly four weeks old but am totally confused over how to keep him awake during feeds and whether I should force feed him or will he simply take what is required.

Since the very first day Max has taken to the milk straight away with an amazing amount of force but does nod off. Because he feeds with his eyes closed and you can hear the gulps I generally miss when he falls off to sleep and then have a real job to wake him up... the mw said to blow on his cheek or make him cold but short of placing ice cubes on his back nothing seems to work,

Originally I thought things where going well, but the midwife was not happy with his weight gain so I had to express after each feed for a weekend which did increase my milk supply and max put on some wieght. I then had a lovely mw who suggested 30-40minutes on one boob and then 5-10 mins on the other. Which works and again he has put on a lot of weight but I can't keep this sleeping / waking thing up. I seem to spending all my time trying to wake him up for what is a five minute feed. If I put him back to sleep after a 10/15 mins feed he is awake within two hours again. Also if he only feeds for 10/15 mins will I start to make less milk again and have to express to up it??

Has anyone else encountered and overcome this problem. I spending all my time wondering if he is constantly dream feeding and then offering him more food everytime he cries.

Any help is massively appreicated!

Replies

• hey,

firstly, I noticed that this is your first post so welcome and congratulations! You'll find everyone on here really friendly and will help where they can.