Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

frozen breat milk

hay was wondering if anyone could help me im due in 13 weeks andstill aint got all the breatfeeding info ive been trying to get. when u express the milk in the bottle for frezzer use how does that work i mean how long can it stay in there ? does it need to be defrosted before use i must sound like a loon but have no idea as im still learning and noone i no has brest feed before would really like to hear your comments

Replies

• Options
    also was wondering how much is enough ? if my child doesnt eat all milk in bottle do i throw it away or keep it for next feed ? im so confused really need help :\?
  • Options
    Hiya hon, firstly congratulations on your pregnancy and well done for choosing to bf!

When you buy your expressing machine, it will come with instructions for expressing and should also have details regarding freezing/refigerating milk etc.

To start with, when my lo was tiny I used to express adn freeze in batches of 2-3oz. When he got to around 5-6 weeks I then moved up to 4oz.

Once you have defrosted breastmilk (in the fridge or in warm water if you're using straight away) you can keep it for 12 hours in the fridge. you can also add more freshly expressed milk to it if you need to.

Milk can be stored in the back of the fridge for up to 3 days - I always used to sip mine before giving to lo as I was paranoid it would go off - it is exactly like cows milk in that it will taste sour if it has gone off.

Best time for expressing is in the morning apparently and I found this to be very true.

Good luck honxx
  • Options
    hay karen thanks for the advice hun

i havent opened my express machine yet so thats why i didnt no about the leftlet in there but ill be sure to go and have a look later today image

thanks for writeing back its good to get help image