Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

TTC while BF- any experiences?

I'm due to start my midwifery course Sept '09 therefore I have 14 months spare before my new career begins. I have 2 children. Evie - 2 1/2 and Kyra - 6 weeks. I would love to have one more child, but I know that once I'm a midwife I won't want to disturb my career and I won't have the chance to have another.

What are the chances of me getting pregnant while bf and having the baby before the course starts in sept 2009? I know this sounds rather optimistic, but I got preg v.easily last 2 times. I haven't had any preg related problems e.g.miscarriage etc. If you think this is at all possible please let me know! Otherwise i'll get the idea out of my mind!!!!

Thanks, xxx

Replies

• Hey hun, you dont say if you have had your cycle return yet? how often do you bf? was you bf when you fell pregnant before?
    Caz x x
  • Hi, i bf my first child for 2 1/2 years in that time i got pg twice unfortunately first ended early (nothing to do with bf) i then got pg after 2 months ttc this was good pg and continued to feed first child all the way through and then tandem fed. As long as you are ov it should be fine. Good luck. x
  • well Caz, I didn't get preg with 2nd while bf. My periods havn't returned yet either. I've got ovulation sticks from before Kyra so I might try using those to get an idea of what's going on.

Kyra feeds throughout the day as she's only 6 weeks. she doesn't have any formula.

How often do you suggest I use them....one a week until af arrive back?