Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Which Milk????

Hello,

I am new to all this and a first time mam to be, I was just wondering if anyone could give me some advice on which bottle milk is best and when i should buy it ( how long does it last ) ? I have 7 weeks left till due date.

Any advice is helpful.

Thanks x

Replies

• Hi,

When we had to make the decision we were told by the midwives that they were all pretty similar so we went with sma gold as I had friends that used it and it was the cheapest. Unfortunately lo got constipation on it so we switched to aptamil which seemingly sorted that out. I think the best way to pick is to see what your local shop stocks in case you need to get hold of some quickly.
    The use by dates are quite long - the one we're on at the moment is 06-01-2011 - and once opened it needs using within 4 weeks, which has never been a problem as we buy around one a week now. I think the first one lasted about 3 weeks.

Hope that helps and all the best for 7 weeks time!
    Clare x
  • same story with amelia she was on sma gold but got constipation so she is now on cow and gate and it has sorted out her consitpation great.

I would say its trial and error im affraid, with what milk suits your baby. x

Good luck for 7 weeks time.
    Sarah XX
  • We use Aptamil as we were told this is the closest to breast milk. We use the ready-made cartons as we find them easier than making up the feeds although they do work out more expensive but won't be forever. (We did try the powder after weeks of being on the cartons but our LO did not take to it for some reason,)