Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

OWWWW!

My DS is only two and a half weeks and has fed really well since birth - he had already gained 11oz at 10days and I BF my DD so I know what I'm doing - but he clamps really hard when he's feeding from the left breast and it hurts!

I don't have any visible nipple trauma but it feels severely bruised and when he's finished feeding the end of my nipple is white.

He's a big hungry baby but I have plenty of milk and there isn't a problem with the right breast.

Any suggestions? My DH is back at work and I'm going to struggle to get to the BF clinic with my DD as well.

Many thanks

Mrs B xxx

Replies

• Options
    Hi,

Sounds bad, I'm not an expert my one suggestion would be try to express a bit before he starts to see if its due to a slow letdown? He might need to suck strongly to get started and then carries on?

Possibly worth a go? Good luck.

Mooomin x
  • Options
    hi monkey nuts

get a nipple shield and feed through that till it heals - they are a lifesaver x
  • Options
    Nipple shield I would second that, plus Lanisoh nipple cream
  • Options
    Hey monkeynuts.

I have had exactly the same with my dd. She's 4 weeks today and fed brilliantly for first 2 1/2 weeks then sudden pain in both nipples. I didn't have any visible trauma either and just white at ends. I continued as normal but used lansinoh for a few days after every feed, and now both breasts are fine again. So give the lansinoh a try. xxx
  • Options