Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Public breastfeeding... I'm new to this and struggling :(

Breastfeeding in public... what a nightmare any advice? x

Replies

• Just seen a link on here to I think it was babi-mam for a cover look much better than the apron things, have google for it.

• Wear vest tops under looser tops so you can pull one down and one up to feed. I personally found covers too much of a faff! Go to a group with other people who are breastfeeding to get your confidence up. Try and pretend no one else is there, people probably won't even notice what you're doing, and if they do it's illegal for them to ask you to stop.

I was terrified at first but if you worry about it you'll never leave the house! I've never had any problems with anyone, and have fed everywhere, cafe's, libraries, park benches, trains!

Good luck!

• hi lalabobo

i sympathise, it feels such a strange thing to get your breast out in public to begin with - i have to say i found staying home easier (or my mums, friends, families houses) just until he was good at attaching. you cant do it subtley for the first couple of weeks and you're exhausted anyway.

the first time i bf in public was at a pn group - with lots of other mummies doing the same - it felt lovely and gave me confidence. Then when i ventured further i made sure i was always with someone who would give good support (my very protective oh was ready with a mouthful for anyone who even looked at me the wrong way, lol!)