Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding

Dummies???

Hi I am new to bf, my LO is 3 weeks old and he struggles to latch on at times ( I think my milk comes out too fast) during the night he is great going 3-4 hours inbetween feeds but during the day is different, I have two other children (both at school) and finding him being attached to me all day a bit much to take. would it be wrong to give him a dummy and do you think it would confuse him?? He just seems to want held all the time (which I would love to do) but its just not practical.

Replies

• My little girl was the same but even though I tried every dummy Boots sold she would not take one! I have a little boy at nursery too so I bought a sling. I can carry her around, feed her and still have my hands free to make lunch, play etc.

Some babys just need lots of cuddles and reassurance there only tiny for such a short time so I would say enjoy it while you can, put your feet up and snuggle in

• hi jennifer, My lo is 9 months and was exactly the same, soon established going 3-4 hours in the night but the days could often be hourly. If i fed him every hour sometimes by the afternoon he would go a whole three hours, then back to hourly again. It went on like that for months but as he was my only child and i was getting sleep at night i didnt mind too much! Can't imagine how hard it must be with 2 children to think about too though.

The HV would say that all this stimulation is important for milk supply - at 3 weeks, that's still being established, and giving your baby a dummy could intefere with that as well as stop her getting all she needs. However, i know it must be really hard so maybe getting one without relying on it too much (only when you absolutely have to) might be the best decision.