Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Breastfeeding rollercoaster

Hi ladies

I'm new to this and got this app so that I talk about my situation. My DS is currently asleep and can wake up any Minuit so I am typing as quick as possible so please excuse me for typos and spelling mistakes!

So as you can see in title, my Breastfeeding journey as been a roller coasters and there have been more downs than ups. My precious DS is 9 weeks old. Sine he was born I had a real hard time with breastfeeding and if I were to mention all the details then this thread would be pages long , so I'll summarise!

When he was born, he did not latch so at hospital, I was shown how to hand express colestorum and shown how to cup and syringe feed. We left hospital the next day, but DS did not drink any milk at home , not through breast , cup, syringe or even bottle (formula). After 24 hours of not drinking, we were admitted back into hospital for breastfeeding support. He finally drank from a bottle at 30 hours after birth. Numerous professional tried to help me to latch him on but nothing was working. So then the lactation consultant introduced expressing milk and I was able to feed him expressed milk through bottle. Then he had jaundice so I topped up with formula too.