Forum home Family life & relationships Childcare & work
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Want to start a family but trapped by work: a bit long sorry

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this but in need of some advice and from what I've seen it looks like you may be in a good position on this forum to help me!

My husband and I are both in our early 30's and would like to start a family next year so I plan to come off the Pill at Christmas. However, I am in a bit of a dilemma at work. I work in quite a senior position in finance and due to a company streamlining exercise my job is potentially at risk. Do I look for a new job now, only to turn around (hopefully!) in a few months' time and announce that I'm pregnant? Or do I sit around here and wait for them to make a decision on our future, only to find that I am perhaps already pregnant when I'm made redundant and don't have a hope of finding another job because of it.

Unfortunately hubby and I desperately need both our incomes so being unemployed or on maternity leave without the maternity pay is not an option.

What are my rights with regards to being pregnant with a brand new employer?

It's really stressing me out thinking that my job could delay our baby plans. I don't want to leave my job but feel I may be forced to - if everything was stable at work then thinking about a baby wouldn't be an issue, just a nice natural way to form our future. Instead I'm worrying myself silly!

Can anyone offer any words of wisdom?

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• check out:

www.direct.gov.uk
    that has all your rights etc - I think it's something like you have to have worked for your employer for 20 weeks before your 15 weeks preg or something like that but that website will have all the info - to be valid for STATUTORY maternity pay then any additional company benefits will have their own terms!