Forum home Family life & relationships Childcare & work
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Considering major career change - advice needed

OK, where to start.... my ds is 14 months and I have been back at work since June, pt (I do three days), I work as a trainer in financial services and the role has changed so much since I was there before I had lo and to cut a long story short I just don't really enjoy it anymore! I've alwasy wanted to be a midwife and since going through childbirth and numerous complications after (and still!) its made me want to do it even more...

I've spoken to careers advice line today and they have given me the following info...

That my three a levels (200 points worth) should be acceptable unless the specific uni want a science one included otherwise I'll need to do an access course! Hope not! That my tuition fees will be paid by nhs, I should qualify for a bursery of between ??2500 and ??4000pa, 50% of a student loan (at ??2000 pa) and a parents learning allowance of ??1500 pa.... as well as poss discounts of council tax etc!

I guess I just wanted any info at all from anyone that has done or is doing this and how you found it... financially, childcare wise etc etc???

How will this affect my CTC too, do the burseries/loans etc count as income for child tax assessments!?!?!

Its a massive decision and I just want to completely research it to death before deciding to give up my job of 10 years! It would mean I drop in income I'm sure so not sure how to manage that but keep reading more and more about vaious burseries etc so hoping they will be of some use!

My dh is unsure about it all, he's worried about finances, and work life balance etc... as well as having more children, how would that fit in! Not that he is against it - just making sure i consider eveything I guess!