Forum home Toddlers & older children Children with special needs

any tips to help my oh with ds1?

hi

At the end of July we saw a paed about my ds1 behaviour as he can be extremely difficult to handle and has a lot of social and emotional difficulties.
He is 3 and 1/2 and bright for his age.
Anyway the paed assessed him and the diff people have come to the conclusion he is probably on the Autistic spectrum and has started the process of involving lots of different agencies as she agrees he is going to need a lot of reassurance to prepare for school. I am a teacher so none of this really has phased me and I have learnt to adapt to his needs and behaviour.

the question is does anyone have any tips for how to help my oh deal with my sons challenging behaviour (very violent at times) my son roars/shouts/screams/kicks /bites/hits etc if something does not go exactlt how he thinks it should or if he is told to stop doing something when he needs to eat (now refusing food quite a lot) and he will not listen to my oh at all he shouts at my oh causing my oh to get wound up. he ends up giving up and having to leave the room to stop himself from showing his anger leaving me to deal with him.

has anyone else got experience where their lo only listens to one person and how you overcome this.

we have the CDT and portage plus coming to the house to help but wanted to get a headstart to help my oh who is so frustrated and upset espec when my son tells him he doesnt want him anymore.

thanks for reading
forgot to add that he also see s&l because he is behind with his speech. up to the age of 2 he didnt say a word. he has come on leaps and bounds and now is just unable to use certain sounds but his sentence structure was assessed as that of a 5year old at his last app.