Forum home Toddlers & older children Children with special needs

Delayed development

Hi my son is nearly 18 months and yesterday we saw a peadatrician due to delayed development slight tremour and clumsyness

he started crawling at 8 months pulled him self up at 10 months and walked with a walker and at 12 months he stood unaided.however at 14-15 months he could no longer use his walker or stand unaided.he is also extremly clumsy and falls over his arms when crawling. He has a slight tremour but doesn't do that so often now

He doesn't have anywords and I'm not sure if he understands everything as he should

he needs to have an MRI, blood test, chromosome test, hearing test, speach therapist, physiotherapist and someone come to house to monitor him more closely

I don't really know what I'm hoping I guess for just other peoples advice and experiences? Any would be gratefully recieved!!

Xxx

Replies

• hello

sorry, i have no experience of this, my daughter has a different set of concerns (heart condition and heterotaxy). however i just wanted to say hi as i know how worrying it is to be in a position like this.

hope all goes well with your appts.

ava has had an mri and chromosome tests (she has a chromoesome duplication it turns out) and she wasn't worried about either x
  • Hi thanks so much for replying, it's do hard to explain to other people how i'm feeling.

How was your daughter during the MRI? How old is she?

Xxx
  • hello

ava is 21 months. i think her mri may have been different as she had a barium swallow at the same time so not the same as the tunnelly ones. however, wiht all the tests and medical stuff she has been though, she has really surprised me! they are much tougher than they look these little uns. ava has had 2 ops (one very major) and she even bounced back from them!