Forum home Toddlers & older children Children's health
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

fobbed off for too long!

im a newbie so no one will no what my poor little girl has been through! she is only nine months old but has been through a lot.

when she was born i noticed quickly that she held her breath for long periods of time sometimes even prompting us to rub her chest in order for her to start breathing again. despite mentioning it to health visitors community midwives and doctors all said that she would grow out of it. at three months old she stopped breathing in the night, thankfully i was alerted by a matress sensor that i had bought before she was born. she needed prompting to breath again. and after taking her to a&e we were kept in over night where she was monitored. during the night her oxygen dropped to 80% and her heartrate was not far behind. i could find no nurses anywhere on the ward and after a horrific 15minutes her obs got back to normal! the doctor refused to believe me and took her off the machine and put her on an apnea monitor instead, which would alarm if no movement was detected after 20 seconds. we were discharged the next day without so much as an explanation to why she had stopped breathing. nearly 5months down the line she stopped again during the night...twice. and in the days that followed had several episodes in her pushchair during the day. my gp had a 2week waiting list and my locla walk in centre put the phone down on me refusing to see her so all that was left was a&e. thankfully they saw the problem and we were referred to a consultant, who reffered us for a sleep study.