Forum home Getting pregnant Conception & fertility problems

Trying to conceive with PCOS.

Hi, I hope I’m posting this in the right place. I’m new to this so bare with me 🙈. 

Background - I was diagnosed with PCOS a little over a year ago and have been trying to conceive for just over 2 years. I have been to fertility appointments who haven’t found any additional problems (e.g. hcg scan came back clear) and my partners tests were all ok. 
I understand weight is a big factor with PCOS and I have lost 10% of my body weight as recommended and keep trying to loose more. 

The more time goes on the more deflated and useless I feel. Each time I get excited thinking it might be my time then I get a false test 🤦‍♀️

The fertility appointments are far apart and the months in between each one just seem longer and longer. 

I was was wondering if anyone had been through similar experiences and have any advice? 

I have also read online that ovulation sticks don’t always work for women with PCOS. Anyone have any advice on this? 

Thank you for taking the time to read this. x 

Replies

• Hi, 

I have a similar background to you...well done for losing the weight, i am still trying lol

I have conceived with PCOS and have a 3 year old, i am trying for my second.

I had the same thoughts as you, and thought will this ever happen. Only advice i have is stay with it, it will happen.

I gave up the OPK sticks as I felt like it was too much pressure on me, some months i wouldn't get a positive and that would add more pressure to my mindset.

I hope this gives you some reassurance.
  • Thank you for replying :) 
    ive still got a few stone to loose to have a average bmi but still trying. Slimming world has helped. 

Awe congratulations! Did you manage to conceive naturally? 

I have never managed to get a positive On the OPK sticks but I don’t think I’ve used them consistently enough as it’s hard to predict when I will be due on.