Forum home Product Tests Sponsored discussions

Tell Shared Parental Leave what your maternity/paternity leave was like: win a voucher!

15678911»

Replies

• My maternity leave was the happiest time of my life.

My advice is to double check how much you are being paid...
    I worked in a school. Unfortunately the council calculated my maternity pay incorrectly and overpaid me slightly each month. Obviously this all added up to a significant amount, but because I didn't know I was being overpaid, I spent it. When they eventually realised, they demanded an immediate payment of over £1500 which was impossible! It took a lot of persuading for them to see that it was their mistake and to offer me a reasonable repayment plan.
  • Maternity leave was a blur for the first few months. I thought I'd have time to bake and be a domestic goddess... Actually I barely kept it together!
  • There was never any question of us sharing it - S was getting the year off to be a first time mum. I got 2 weeks which was great. Planned in some Annual leave too to take it up to 4 weeks.

Every moment is precious, would have valued even more time, but wasn't even a consideration to share the leave, much harder still for the dad to justify taking lots of time unless the mum has a critical career.
  • I was working for an agency on a month to month basis(for 4 years!!), they told me my contract had come to an end literally as I found out I was pregnant(they didn't know I was pregnant). I was depressed and had awful morning sickness for most of my pregnancy. By the time my son was born I was so lonely, I was broke and my husband was working all the overtime he could to support us. It wasn't a very enjoyable experience. It would have been so much better if I had worked my pregnancy and had some money saved up.