Forum home Babies Baby

How long to take a feed & when to change teat size?

Hello, I'm a graduate from DIJ '10 and now mainly post in BIJ '10. I haven't posted in here before, but hoping ladies with older babies could offer some advice.

My lo is just over 7 weeks old, and can take up to half an hour to feed, (minimum of 15 minutes) on size 1 tt ctn teats. She has been suffering with bad colic so we give her gripe water, and have commenced Colief, which appears to be helping enormously.

The HV suggested going up a teat size as this may improve things. She is now taking a feed (5oz) in 5-10 mins with a break for winding. She seems to cope well with the flow from the teat, although there is a lot coming out of the bottom or side of her mouth (this is no different to when she had size 1 teat). She doesn't cough or look like she's choking either. She appears to be less colicky, although this may be the Colief taking effect also.

She has a very strong sucking reflex, and I thought that she would be collapsing the size 1 teat if this was too small for her, which isn't the case? Is it worth persevering with the size 2 teat, as I'm sure it's just a case of her getting used to it? Is she too young for the this teat size? Is the time she now takes to feed with a size 2 teat normal? She hasn't been sick after a feed, which would suggest that she's not getting it too quickly either.

Vicki & Poppy x

Replies

• hey hun, i'm from BIJ too and my little girl is 7 weeks on thursday. she seemed to be taking longer and longer to take her feed recently so we've upped her to a size 2 teat (also tt ctn ones) and her feed times are now around the same as you've said.

she also doesn't have any sickness or extra dribble etc so i'd presume that the time is normal and that if LO waas having any problems with the teat they'd soon let us know

xx