Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Where do I start

Hello Ladies,

I am new to baby expert and thought that this would be the perfect place to find all the advice I need. I am 26 and have been with my husband for 10 years and married for two. We have a 6 year old daughter and we are planning to start trying for our second child in May this year and quite frankly I dont know where to start.

When I was 19 I fell pregnant whilst on the mini pill (couldnt take the normal pill due to certain medical factors) and it took both my husband and I by surprise but we had a beautiful daughter in 2003 and wouldnt change anything now for the world. Due to the fact that I was so young at the time and wanted to build a career for myself I finished my studies, went to university and have a successful career in the police force, we planned not to try sooner for a child. We didnt obviously plan the first time around and want to plan everything (or as much as possible) this time around i just need some tips on where to start.

Also despite having my daughter I have no idea what contractions, labour or giving birth is like! When i was 38 weeks I was rushed into hospital in a terrible state and it had nothing to do with being in labour. I in fact had appendicitis and due to the amount of drugs administered to me my baby was suffering so the medical decision was made to deliver my daughter by c-section then remove my appendix. I felt very cheated by not going through the labour process and so this time around it will the first time for me really,
is anyone in the same situation?

I really want a natural delivery this time around as i had such a bad experience with my c-section and epidurals/morphine & pethadine but is this possible? I have heard from relatives that this is not possible but is that just because there were more risks years back?