Forum home Getting pregnant IVF & assisted conceptions

Down reg appt

Hi ladies,

I haven't posted for a while but have been logging on and keeping up to date with how everyone is doing. Like most of us I'm finding all of this v difficult and an almost surreal process and often have to remind myself to keep positive etc.

Anyway had my down reg appt Fri and the nurse confirmed that things are going ok, my endometrium was 3.3mm and they could see some follicles on each ovary. The only concern was a follicle on my right ovary which measured 9mm, although they said because under 10 I was ok to proceed, so start my stimming tomorrow.

Does anyone know what the follicles should be at this stage and what this all means? It's my first time so all v new to me. Also what symptoms should I expect from the Menopur? How much of this drug is everyone else taking?

Thanks ladies

Love Em J xx

Replies

• Hi EmJ. Congrats on achieving the down reg bit, and brilliant news you are moving on to stimming. It all starts to get more exciting now.

Everyone is different, so I don't know how helpful this is, but at the down reg stage, I think I had some follicles around the 6mm mark. If your clinic guides you that it's fine to proceed with one at 9mm, then they must be right.

I took menopur last year as part of my IUI treatment, so it was a relatively low doseage (150ml every two days).I found it gave me a a bit of a pressure headache by late afternoon on the day I injected, but drinking pints of water helped. I also started taking the meds in the evening instead of the morning and that helped (in my IVF treatment at a different hospital, they insisted in took my meds in the morning, so not sure if you'll have this flexibility).

I found I got some side effects with the down regging drugs (Buserilin) and to be honest I was just so thrilled to move on to the next stage!

Best of luck.
    xxx
  • Hi Mrs D,