Forum home Family life & relationships Childcare & work
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Nhs Hospital ward workers?

Hiya!! I am a staff nurse on a very busy ward and am currently 16+4. I am working out the finances to whether or not i can survive on smp only for the last 3months of mat leave. which I hope I can, however my other worry is what with the shifts being 8 hr shifts of earlys lates and nights I havnt a clue what to put as a flexible working request!!? I think i want to drop to 30 hrs but have no idea what will suit us with childcare. Hubby works 8.30-18.30. For inspiration can anyone share with me what they do?
I normally dont even know what I am doing next week let alone when the time comes for me to be leaving baby!!!
The other thing is I dont want to never see my hubby as my immediate thought was to request weekend shifts when he has his days off but we are still newleyweds too and hate to be apart!! lol
plus my manager likes us to be quite flexable and may not authorise to only work certain days of the week.

anyone help? :\?

Replies

• hi,only just noticed this post so sorry for the late reply.i work as a staff nurse on a mental health ward and i dropped to 30hours and in flexible working i submitted that i needed to work fixed shifts through the week due to childcare and it has worked really well for us. and put that i could not afford to work if i had to pay fulltime childcare costs just in case i was on shift,lo goes to nursery and even though it is a hospital nursery it charges the same and isnt flexible on times.my manager was very supportive,not all collegues were though.ultimately they need to consider your request and give good reason to why they say no.as much as managers hate flexible working policy the nhs is very agreeable than many jobs.hth and it gets sorted for you.xxx