Forum home Babies Baby

How long maternity leave did you take?

Hiya,

Im just being nosey... image I would love another baby which would complete my family. Problem is that we couldn't afford me being on maternity leave. I know that we would cope when I was back at work but I just cannot see how we would cope while I was on maternity leave. So I was just wondering how long you took off on Maternity leave and if it was your first or not.... Also if it wasnt your first and your lo was normally in nursery did they still go to nursery while you were on maternity leave?

Emma x

Replies

• Hi, I'll have had just under a yr off when I go back to work. I'm a teacher and did 5 wks in Sept/beginning of Oct before going off, and then I will start back for the next school yr in Sept. It will be a struggle towards the end as I have about 4/5 wks where I dont get stat maternity pay, but with the way it's fallen I 'officially' go back to work end of July so I get paid in summer hols. This is my first LO, and we would really like another baby, but I'll go back to work for a year or so before we do, I'd like no more than 3 yrs between babies.

xxxx
  • I have taken the full year. We saved up money. It is difficult, but not that difficult in our situation. Due to go back end of april, but gonna be made redundant. Was first child.
  • I was off for nearlly a year but wa signed of sick for 2 months before having my daughter due to spd, i took nine months mat leave and then 5 weeks annual leave so i had nine months at home with her, she's our first and last baby
    xx
  • Hi, I'm taking the full year and not due back until July. I was signed off work in March 09 on bed rest due to a low lying placenta so I would have had 16 months off in total once I go back. DS is my 1st but once we have another if DS enjoys Nursery I would probably take him for 1 day or a 1/2 a day a week just so he can play with his friends and I could have a bit of 1-2-1 time with new baby. xx
  • Hia