Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

When did you start to ttc again after being bereaved?

Hi, i'm new to this part of the forum but have managed to post in bereavement after the loss of our beautiful baby boy Thomas on 3/3/10. He was just 1 day old and was born on 2/3/10. We buried our Thomas on 12/3/10 so our feelings are still very raw.

We're still completely numb, words can't explain how we feel but i know that unfortunately some of you lovelies will know exactly what i mean by this.....our hearts are aching and are broken....they will never mend.

Thomas was our 2nd baby as i had a mmc in Dec 08. Thomas should have been our light at the end of a dark tunnel but it just wasn't meant to be...he was full term and healthy but I won't go into it all as you can read my posts in bereavement if you like.

My bleeding has nearly stopped and although its only early days my hubby n I have talked about ttc again. I know this is a very sensitive topic and is individual for everyone but we long to have a baby. We had always said we would have more than one child and would still love for our Thomas to have a brother or sister.

So my question is in the title really, when did you all start to ttc again or are you still waiting? Any advice, suggestions, stories very welcome. After my mmc we waited for 4 months before ttc again as we were getting married and wanted my body to be able to rest etc...after this it happened more or less straight away and we got preg with Thomas.

I always worry that i won't be able to get pregnant again or it will take ages, i'm now 33 so don't want time to be ticking too fast. I understand that my body needs a bit of a break, i also had a long labour but....don't think i can wait too long. Going to ask my gp when i go for my 6 wk check in 3 weeks. We're going away just after this for a week, do you think it would be too soon to try?