Forum home Product Tests Expert Q&As

Baby sign & communication webchat Mon 10th May 12-1pm

Ever wondered what your baby is thinking? Find out the benefits of baby signing and how to master the technique in our webchat with Fiona Winterhalder from TinyTalk. Monday 10th May 12-1pm

If you can't make this chat don't worry leave your post now...

Replies

• baby signing is fantastic! i've been doing it for 6 months with my daughter through sing and sign. she can sign all sorts at 12 months old. i dont think she would be so talkative if it wasnt for the signing.

everyone should do it!
  • I can see how it can be beneficial for babies with special needs but I worry that a baby would try to sign instead of trying to talk. Have you ever seen that happen?

Also, at what age would you except a toddler/child to be able to sign nursery rhymes? I can't find the answer in any books or the internet!
  • My lo has always been way ahead of her speech milestones without doing baby signing.

I'm not saying it doesn't have an impact just I've seen it not work with a parent who was desperate to understand what her baby wanted.
  • Can anyone suggest some good books or web links for me to look at? I've never heard of it and I'm intrigued.
  • Hi Fiona,

I started signing "milk" when my daughter was about 5 months (she is now 8 months). She has been signing "milk" for nearly 2 months now. I've introduced other signs as well and have expected her to be able to sign more but so far she is only signing "milk", and I'm wondering if I'm using too many signs at once. In addition to "milk", I'm signing "eat", "sleep", "more", and "all gone". Should I keep going or drop one or two until she's able to do more?
  • Welcome to today's webchat on the subject of Baby Sign, with Fiona Winterhalder from TinyTalk.

Fiona will be online from 12pm-1pm to answer your posts.