Forum home Babies Baby

Teachers- what do you think?

Hey there, I am a primary school teacher and have been back at work for a month after 9 months maternity leave. Thing is ... I can't wait to TTC again, my hubbie and I have always wanted our children close together. I know I only have to be back for 6 months but was wondering how long you thought it was acceptable to be back before getting pregnant again ... don't want to piss the head off! I feel a bit of extra pressure as I've come back to a new year group and am also SLT. So, what's your opinion? Any views welcome!

Replies

• Hello,

I too am a primary school teacher.

I would defo say start TTC when you are ready and sod your head!!!

I was back after 7 months off for 2.5 weeks when I applied and got a deputy headship at another school to start in September.

Yes, in our job it is important to be dedicated to our schools and children, but at the end of the day, you work to provide for your family and if you want to increase your family, then go for it!! (In my opinion!)

xx
  • Thank you Mrs Bammy!
  • I agree with MrsBammy. Start to TTC when you are ready! I was on the SLT before I had Lily and going back to work was ok last time. Hopefully I'll start maternity at end of October and go back after May half term next year and start to apply for jobs before my maternity leave runs out, so I have a new job for September. We have an acting head at the min so it'll probably be a new head anyway if I go back so I don't have any ties to them if you see what I mean? And I am really unhappy at my school now so I have to do what is right for me and my family as MrsBammy says.

Good luck with the TTC.
  • im with the others work to live dont live to work xx
  • Yep - I agree with everyone else! The job takes up so much of our personal / home lives most of the time - consider it payback! x