Forum home Babies Sleep
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

My baby daughter will not sleep through the night - Help!

Hi, I'm new to the toddler thread! My daughter is almost 15 months old and is still refusing to sleep through the night! I am still breastfeeding her, as she is refusing to stop, we have such a close relationship!

I am very sleep deprived, as she has not slept consistently through the night since she was about five months old!

The Health Visitors are not much help either! I am so tired, I'm losing focus, it's hard to get through the day and keep up with the daily chores and bits and pieces, not to mention driving! I also have eight year old adopted twins!

I know the milk is spoiling her appetite a bit, but she does not like formula (which is fine), but she is not a fan of cows milk either! She eats fine most of the time, but it does not seem enough to get her through the night!

I know she really enjoys our cuddles, when she feeds, but I can't go on with her getting up 3-4 times a night, it's driving me crazy!!!, my husband can't really help much either due to his shift pattern!

It's really putting me off having anymore, as I know,I will make the same mistakes! I've let her get away with alot, as it took me along time to fall pregnant with her and I don't know if I can have anymore (no problems,that we know of!)

I don't know what it's like to have a proper nights sleep, I'm really miserable!

Don't get me wrong, I love breastfeeding, but I'm really small and not a big eater! I know she does not need it, but she get so upset!

We put her back into our room, to help her as she did not like being on her own and it took me ages just to get to sleep in her own cot again!

Just feeling like I've failed her and myself! They say if you take the breast milk away straight away that she could become distressed and traumatised!!!

Please help!

Very,very sad Mandy X

Replies