Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

When to test?

Hi Ladies,

I'm a newbie to ttc and this is our first month. I came off the Pill on 20th May and had my withdrawal bleed from 22nd to around 25th/26th. I have no idea whether my cycles will be regular or not and I haven't used opk's this month as we decided to just see what happened (if anything!). I am on cd23 today, so when can I test from? This month seems to have gone soooooo slowly!

Mrs G xx

Replies

• Welcome Mrs G !

I would probably wait till at least cd28, however be preparded for a bfn. When I came off pill in July 2007 it took until July 2008 before I began to ov, not that i'm suggesting it'll take you a year but my cycles went mad. Ranged from 37ish days up to 96 days, it wasnt until Feb 08 that they began to regulate a little.

Good luck though !
  • Eek!! Hope it doesn't take a year for my cycles to settle down. You must have been so fed up. I am fully expecting a BFN this month tbh as I don't think we have done enough (if you get what I mean!). I'm just so impatient!!

Mrs G xx
  • Yeah i'd say cd28 too hun. But obviously if its bfn and af doesn't arrive just keep testing maybe every 2 days. They do say every 7 days but realistically I know I couldn't wait that long between testing!

Good luck xx
  • Thank you! Cd28 will be Friday so will try and wait til the weekend. Hubby doesn't want me to test unless I have any symptoms i.e. unless I am throwing up every morning or have a massive bump! Anyway will have to try and convince him this week as otherwise I will drive myself mad if af doesn't show.

Mrs G xx
  • Hi I would do a test at 28 days and if it's a bfn to be honest I would only test every week or so as you don't yet know your cycles.