Forum home Babies Baby

Mixxed feelings for mixed feeding

I've been EBFing my little girl for 6 and a half months now and have just gone back to work. I was intending to BF her for as long as possible and certainly up to 9 months as that falls at the beginning of September and as a teacher I have the summer holidays in a month or so and the thought of making up bottles when I'm at home and have the milk 'on tap' seemed silly. Anyway since going back to work I've found expressing really difficult. My school is a really good one and stress caused by pupils is virtually non existent, but it is still very demanding and I have returned in the middle of report writing season so have huge amounts of work on. Last week I managed to express around 5-7oz each lunchtime and this was given to my daughter the following day, but she was hungry and needed more. On Monday we tried her with some formula and she took it without a problem, so I thought we'd do one bottle of each while I was away from her each day. Then yesterday my pump wasn't working and I couldn't express so today she had less milk (my CM knows how eager I've been to continue BFing so eeked out the milk through the day, bless her). Today I left my pump at home (duh) and again couldn't express, but was so busy throughout the day anyway that I'm not sure I would have had time anyway. So now I'm considering ditching the expressing and just BFing her morning, evening and before bed and giving her 2 lots of formula during the day. In some ways I feel I'm being selfish because I should be able to do this basic thing of feeding her BM, but in other ways I feel it's far more important for her to have enough milk during the day and not have to have it eeked out like we have been doing. It's silly I know because even my fairly militant but oh so lovely BF counsellor at the group I used to go to said to me that if this happened it wouldn't be the end of the world and at the end of the day it's just cow's milk made safe for ba