Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive

trying again but scared :-(

Hi ladies,
I am a newbie on this website.
I had my son in May 2009. he was born at 28weeks due to placenta abruption. He weighed 3lbs. we were in hosiptal with him for 11 weeks but he is now a happy 13 month old weighing close to 20lbs!!

My husband and I are thinking of trying for another baby next month. I really really want another baby and would love nothing more than going full term but at the same time I am petrified I will have another preemie. The birth was not nice as had a lot of bleeding and went dizzy so had to be knocked out completley. I didn't get to see my son until the next day which was horrible.

My question is has anyone had premature baby but went on to have a full term baby? x x x

Replies

• Hey Bexy
    My LO was only 5 weeks early and spent 10 days on SCBU for breathing difficulties.
    Hubby and I have a loose plan to start trying for baby number 2 at some point next year. I have the same thought, that I really hope we go full term this time.
    I obviously can't offer reassurance as I only have my little lady at 19 weeks. But you shouldn't let your worries stop you and hubby trying again. I'm sure the doctor/midwife will keep an eye on you throughout and if baby number 2 is too impatient to wait till 40 weeks then you'll deal with it just the way you have with you baby boy who as you said yourself is doing so well.
    Best of luck with ttc
    xxx
  • oh hun I totally understnad your feelings.

My lo was born 6 weeks early after spontaneous rupture of membranes and I was soooooooo worried about having a second premature baby. Before we ttc I went to discuss it with my GP and went through my birth notes in a Reflections sessiona the hospital. Basicallyt his reassured me that there was no obvious reason that this would happen again.