Forum home Babies Baby

Do I need to sterilise calpol spoon?

This may be a silly question! My LO is 19 weeks old, breastfed and not yet weaning. So we have no sterilising equipment in the house! He has two teeth just coming through and is a bit grouchy. We have given him a couple of doses of cslpol in the last few days but today it has occurred to me that we should probably be sterilzing the spoon? Is that right? I've tried looking at various websites but am still unclear whether I should/would be sterilising bowls and spoons if I was weaning at this age. Help please! x

Replies

• I'm not an expert by any means as this is my first, but from speaking to my sister over the weekend (we're borrowing her sterilising unit) you should really sterilise everything until they are a year old. If you havent got any of the equipment then a milton tablet would be just as good.
    Hope this helps
    Nicky (Due in August)
  • ditto for mrs P. If youve no sterilizer just scald it, but might be worth getting one, you'll be living by it when hhe starts to wean! I recommend a cold water sterilizer, brilliant!!

Em x
  • i would say yes to sterilise everything that goes in their mouth under the age of 6 months maybe you could put it in a cup and scald it with boiled kettle water that's what my mum used to do but maybe that is wrong now i'm not sure i had a steriliser so used to pop it in there

• I thought this too, and sterilised the dentinox syringe...came out banana shaped!

milton tabs/solution i think is best!
  • I've found dipping it in boiling water the best method so far. Obviously have to wait a few minutes to cool down, but seems to work, xx
  • Oh God, I genuinely wouldn't bother. Life is too short! I stick my fingers in LO's mouth sometimes and I'm sure as hell not about to tip boiling water on them first. Neither am I keen to scald my nipples before every bf.

You can, if you must, but if you don't I promise he won't die of it!

• :lol: Mrs S!