Forum home Babies Baby

Confused - making up bottles in advance???

Hi girls,
My baby is due in 5 weeks & I wondered if you could clear up some confusion for me? I know the current guidelines are to make up feeds as you go & allow to cool but this sounds like it would be very hard to do in the middle of the night when baby wakes up & wants feeding there & then?

As this is my first I've no experience with this. Any advice would be gratefully received!

Thanks
DM
35+1

Replies

• Well, apparently you are. however this is what i do. When I go to bed I boil the kmettle, fill the bottle to the desired amount of oz's, then put the formula in a little storage container. when baby wakes I mix and then warm up!

Years ago you could just mix it and keep it in the fridge, and I know there are people that do and baby is fine!

Good luck
  • There are various ways to do it, and many ladies do it various ways with lo's being fine.

You could put some boiled water in a flask, and add the powder then cool.

You could put boiled water in the bottle, leave, add powder and heat when needed.

You could put cooled boiled water in the bottle up to a couple of oz less than you need, then when bottle needed add a couple of oz of boiled water and the powder.

You could put water and formula in bottle, put in fridge, and heat when needed.

Some put the cooled boiled water in the bottles, in the fridge and use within 24 hours. Some make the milk up (myself included) put in the fridge and use within 24 hours.

Guidelines are guidelines, not rules. I make all bottles up in advance because it's easier for me and lo. I make sure the water is cooled to 70 degrees to kill the milk bugs. But then some think they breed in the fridge when I leave them there. We've had no problems though.

Choose they way you feel happy with. xx