Forum home Babies Baby

Baby Names... do you imagine their upbringing?

I was talking to someone today about names and I wondered what other people thought when they heard some names. My midwife when i was pg told me she'd had a mother who named her 3 children after trainers (puma and nike, but cant remember the third). we heard a mum shout a toddler named after a car while waiting for a scan.

personally, i dislike babies being given an abbreviaion as a formal name, but that's just my opinion. and i really dislike it when people dont spell their child's name right, just to be different.

but do other people think some names are more likely to lead people to assumptions about that child's parents? maybe it's just because i work in education so come across this frequently.

what do you think?

[Modified by: Calleigh on 12 August 2010 18:52:35 ]

Replies

• I'm the opposite - I like abbreviations as formal names! I don't really see the point of calling your baby Jennifer, for example, if you don't like the name Jennifer and will always call her Jenny! (I actually really like both those names, but that's beside the point.)

Yes, agree with rest of your post though unfortunately. Some names do lead to assumptions about upbringing and 'class'. It works the other way though - when you hear of a baby named Rupert or Montgomery you make assumptions about his parents too!

• I totally agree with making assumptions about the name of a child, not only about their parents but about their whole upbringing and probable future. Judgemental perhaps but I can't help it. Still it does work both ways though like coco says xx
  • my lecturer at uni once said he didnt go to uni (red brick) with any boys with what id call normal names, like ryan for example, but there were ruperts etc.
  • I don't mind abbreviations either, my dd1 is Jess, she is Jessica on her birth certificate (and when she is naughty) but for everything else she is Jess. Although I hate it when people call her Jessie.