Forum home Babies Baby

Putting baby on solids

Hi,

I am looking for advice. My LO is 7 months, today in fact!!, I have been weaning her since she was 6 months. She is on puree'd everything, what she doesn't spit out anyway, but I am having problems with solids. I have given her rusks and rice pudding but whenever she manages to bite a bit of rusk she hates the texture in her mouth and then gags on the pieces this was the same with the rice pudding to the point she threw her whole dinner up. Is there any easier way to start this solid process????? i do get worried when she gags as i am scared it is going to go into choking.

Help as I am scared of giving her anything which may cause her to choke if she isn't used to swallowing....

Many thanks

Replies

• Maybe try some rusk in milk, it will give a bit of texture which is what stage 2 foods are supposed to be like. Also have you tried the Organix crisps, they melt in the mouth, so can be easy to eat.

Try not to worry about the gag reflex, lo is still getting used to getting the food to the back of their mouth. The reflex is further forward than ours is, making choking very unlikely.

My lo is stubborn, he might get a bit off of a piece of fruit, gags but doesn't spit it out, just tries to move it about more...then finally swallows or spits!

Just move a little slower with adding texture. I find just the tip of the spoon with food on gives James an idea what he's eating. He never knows what texture/thickness/taste he's going to get. Also a lot of it is perseverance with tastes. HTH. xx
  • Hi Mithical,