Forum home Babies Baby

Swearing in front of LO

How the ******* hell do you stop doing it??? :lol: Would be interested to hear your suggestions for alternatives,

Replies

• It depends why you're swearing I guess! It's an interesting question. Hubby and I are in the process of deciding what we do about our music taste - it's not really child friendly lyrics-wise. As for swearing, we're both teachers so we have an on/off switch for that sort of thing. It's just habit, after all! My only alternative is a very, very deep breath usually! x
  • lol! I very very rarely swear, mainly because im a primary teacher and it petrifies me that if I was to use swearing in everyday language then I would accidently in the classroom so I just dont bother! I do say bugger, which is about as bad as I get. I often use 'sugar', 'oh my goodness' and 'blimey' but mostly, I do it under my breath. I have had this conversation (or should I say 'discussion'!) with hubby today as he is a chef and uses bad language regularly, so finds it hard not to in other situations and I hate it in front of the boys!
  • hmm this is a good one ...i am very bad for swearing and i dont know why cos i HATE hearing lo's saying bad words...just a bad bad habit ...i try to change the word if i remember half way through like if im going to say shit ill say shiiiiizzzennn or something :lol: ...wake up call really was my ds telling me "mummy ive warned you dont shout at daddy for parking wrong,fucking hell" :roll: *sigh* i try extra hard now but i still sometimes fail :roll: ..ill be watching this topic closely image x
  • i make OH put 20p in LO's money box every time he swears near her as he used to be really bad (and owed her about ??7 just from one night of playing mariokart with her in the room! lol) but since i imposed this he's realised how bad he was and has done a really good job with stopping....however last nights newcastle game undone some of that hard work! lol