Forum home Babies Baby

Questions to ask nursery

We're going to have a look around a nursery, with the idea of having Sam there 2 or 3 mornings a week so i can help with DH's business. I have no idea what to ask them - any ideas? What should I be looking out for? I am a primary school teacher so know a bit about OFSTED, early years etc, but a bit clueless when it comes to babies and what they should be doing at nursery!

Replies

• o bury. youre close to me then! we also showed up unannounced and i asked about how they are with real nappies!
  • I looked at 2 and had a good feeling about one in particular so that's the one we went with (my nephew goes there too until school starts next month so that helps too)

When they are little the nursery should work round them, so are they happy with your routine/lack of routine?
    Can you see the menu?
    Can you see a timetable of what they babies and children have been doing recently?
    Do they have a key carer scheme in place?
    What is included in the price- food, nappies etc
    What are their security measures- for instance, should someone else need to collect LO one day? My nursery has a safe room too
    Do they work to a curriculum?
    What is their policy on illness and medication?
    Do they have parents evenings?

Um...... sure there is more! x

• Ooh just of the top of my head.

How long have the staff worked there? Is there a high staff turnover?
    How many of the staff are qualified?
    what would they do if they were (for some reason) over their ratios?
    Do they have a key worker system?
    What is their policy on picking up children, and giving cuddles?
    Can LOs sleep/eat whenever they want - or do they have to fit into a schedule?
    What would they do if LO refused to sleep, but was obviously very tired?
    If LO sleeps through lunch time - what would they do?
    What is their policy on calpol/teething powder/nappy cream - etc?