Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

so confused - need serious advice and opinions pls

Ok will make as brief as poss! I'm 34+4 and today saw my consultant regarding a c section. This is my first baby and due to a number of reasons (not medical) he has agreed I can have one. I have 2 weeks to decide if its really what I want before I go back to see him when he will book it. I am just so confused. I don't know what to do. I have never done this before and everything is so new and scary. I feel very lucky to have a choice so to speak but also very guilty I may be messing with a perfectly normal natural birth. Ok I really am rambling now, I just would really value ur opinions on natural birth vs elective c section cause my brain can't take it anymore. I just want to add even tho the reasons are not medical they are valid reasons and not that I am too posh to push!

Replies

• Hi Sarah, I guess it totally depends on what your reasons are for wanting a C section in the 1st place? For me personally I would like to try to give birth naturally unless for medical reasons I can't. I would like the experience for 1 thing but also the fact that I'd hopefully recover quicker and be able to move around easier if I gave birth naturally. I'd 100% have a section if the Dr's advised me to though, I wouldn't think twice about that xx
  • i'd say it definately depends on your reasons...

For me, I would only want a csection if there was any risk to me or bubs in having a natural birth

Co xx
  • It depends what you're reasons are I guess...

it takes longer to recover from a section and you can't drive etc...for 6 weeks or so. Will that have any impact on you? Do you have people to help at home while you recover?