Forum home Babies Baby

When did your LO start clapping?

Hi all

As the subject says really! My MIL keeps saying that Toby should be able to clap hands by now but he is not even close. I'm forever saying "clap hands!" and showing him but he shows no interest! He is 8.5 months.

Thanks!!
C image

Replies

• Our LO has just started doing this as we are approaching 9 months.

I've been showing him how to wave for about 6 weeks now but he has shown no interest in doing this whatsoever.

I wouldn't worry, they all develop at differently and there's no right time for any of these things xx
  • 10m for us!! she could bash things together but wouldnt clap!! she wont stop doing it now!
  • oh my goodness, i have been saying 'clap clap' everyday for about two months but my little boy is just not interested, yet he loves to be a little red indian by clapping his hand on his mouth so make sounds after me doing it to him whilst yawning. very random. my little boy is 9.5 months.
  • 8 months here, he did it non stop for about a week and now doesnt really do it unless he is banging toys together, i think probably because i dont constantly say clap clap clap! now i say pat pat pat as he likes to pat the table, the dog, my head, the floor....you name it...he pats it!!!!
  • I think Hugo thinks he IS clapping when he bangs his toys together! The only time he'll clap is when I sort of start him off and he'll do a few claps on his own when I take my hands away, but he doesn't really get it. He's not waving yet either. One of his little friends learnt to clap and wave at around 8 months but then went to nursery and has forgotten how to!
  • dd started clapping around 5 months but they all do different things at different times, I wouldn't worry about it xxx