Forum home Getting pregnant IVF & assisted conceptions

Any teachers combining teaching with ivf?

HIya,

Just wondered if anyone was a teacher- i still have a wait til i start ivf as only just going through referral but want to speak to my head next week to explain i will need time off when it all starts.

Any teachers balancing teaching with ivf - worried as we cant take holidays/sick days like other jobs but obv this comes first. How much time post transfer did you have off and around ec? I work with 3-5 year olds so on my feet a lot of the day.

Thanks xxx

Replies

• Hi samsa
    I am just having a look through past posts and spotted your question. We are not having IVF yet but there is a very strong possibility that we will end up going down that road as my husband has a very low sperm count. I am a teacher and I too have been wondering about time off. I teach year 1 and 2 so am also on my feet most of the day. I think that if and when the time comes for us I will play by ear as to how much time I have off after procedures. We have only just gone for our first appointment after referral but I cant help but get ahead of myself. I hope your chat with your head went well, I told mine about our problems this week and she was lovely she cried as well bless her. She said any time I want I can have it even if it's at 5 mins notice.

I was hoping to not have to tell anyone about our infertility (we havent even told parents yet) but being a teacher we cant just take a morning off when we want it. I did actually feel better after chatting with her, like it was a weight off my chest and one less thing to worry about.