Forum home Babies Baby

Anyone adopted or thought about it? (also in toddler)

Merry Christmas everyone!!!

OH and I have often thought of adopting, but until now we felt we weren't settled/mature enough to go through the process. Also, financially we're able to afford another child now, due to a change in circumstances. Our LO is coming up for a year old and so we have been talking about it more recently. So I thought I'd see what experiences you've had with it.

I've always been concerned about our suitability. To give you an idea, OH is self-employed, I work part-time as a nurse in A&E, our LO is nearly 1, we own our own house, we're not well off but we have everything we need, love and laughter in our house is constant...reading this back I'm not sure what I'm concerned about but Social workers always make me feel like a silly little girl IYKWIM!!!

So, really what I want to know is; is the process the nightmare its thought to be? How long does it take to get approved? Its all quite daunting. Obviously its early days and OH and I are still very much discussing the idea of it, but I'd love to hear your experiences and any pointers would be great!

Hope you all have a lovely day with your LO's around you, enjoy every minute

Liz xxx

Replies

• Hi Liz my brother and sister in law have just adopted two children and it took a total of 3 and a half years! Any questions you have feel free to message me on facebook and i will do my best to answer.

Oh and BTW my brother and sis in aw both work very long hours and shifts and that didnt effect it in anyway

xx
  • Thanks for the reply dinky, I know the process can be long, but I think we're going to give contact social services in the new year and find out exactly what's involved. Might take you up on your offer once I know a little more - hope you don't mind!

Thanks xxx