Forum home Babies Baby

First AF after having baby - is this normal?

Hi ladies

**TMI ALERT**

If you are squeamish please do not read the rest of this post.

I have just started my first AF after having DS2 6 and a half weeks ago and it's as heavy as the blood loss when I had him! I can feel it coming out and it gets worse the more I move about. My lady garden is aching like someone has kicked me in it repeatedly for several hours and I have bad stomach ache as well. I just went for a bath and had to get out after 5 monutes as I started bleeding in the bath, which I have never done before.

Is all this normal? I don't remember it being this bad after DS1. It is literally the same amount of blood as I was losing after I gave birth and I'm having to double up maternity pads in my pants!

I'm going to docs tomorrow for a different issue so will mention the bleeding, but just wanted to know if anyone else has been this bad as I am getting a bit worried.

Thank you, and really sorry for the TMI.

Sam, Harrison & Daniel

xxxxx

Replies

• Hi mine was really unpleasant after having H, it was also about 6 weeks after and I had to wear a pad and a tampon at the same time and change really often. Also had the same with N so I guess its just your body getting back to normal.

• sounds exactly like me when mine they came back after DD. and it lasted something like 10/12 days too, was utter hell on earth tbh and properly freaked me out! but since then all back to normal. the wonderful things pregnancy does to our bodies eh!! :lol:
  • Thank you ladies, it's reassuring to know that others have been the same. I guess I just assumed it would be like a normal period and really didn't expect it to be so heavy.

Lottie- I am also having to change very regular, even with maternity pads.

Piepiesmum- I really hope this doesn't last as long as yours did, it's only been 24 hours and it's driving me mad already, don't think I could manage another 10 days of it :lol: