Forum home Babies Baby

app for flexible working

I am trying to write my Application for flexible working but am struggling with impact on business and how to minimise - I work in a bank as a Banking Advisor and plan to only drop 1 day, I am also asking to be demoted to Teller and would perhaps mention this as a way of minimising impact to business as I wont have to leave account opening files etc wating for my next day in so no-one should be left with any of my work to deal with.

Does anyone else work in banking / retail and have any good ideas?

Also I may not be returned to the same branch but one within 22 miles of my home but this would take i 2 or 3 branches I would find difficult to get to as we dont use the car for business use and it would also make childcare harder as I'd have to drop DD of earlier and pick her up later. Do I have ny rights around this? Also would having PND give me additional rights as I am currently on medication for PND

Replies

• hi there, I can't help with any ideas for your flexible working as mine were totally okay with this as its office based and didn't impact on business but I did return with post natal depression and couldn't cope very well. I don't know what your legal rights were but my work were great as i'd only been back 2 months and they asked me to take more time off as they could see how bad I was, but I couldn't afford to not be at work so they allowed me to take another 2 months off using holiday i'd accrued during the year and the rest as compassionate leave.

You could try contacting Acas I'm sure they will tell you any rights you have

good luck
  • I've now written my letter does this read ok?

I would like to apply under section 80F of the Employment Rights Act 1996 to work a flexible working pattern that is different to my current working pattern because:

??????? I have parental responsibility for the upbringing of a child aged up to and including 16

I am making this request to help me care for the child.