Forum home Babies Baby

advice on choosing a nursery (also in pregnancy)

Hi I'm g/c from Due in March for some advice from mums who's lo's go to nursery.

We don't have family close enough to help with childcare so when I go back to work our lo is going to have to go to nursery.

We've made some appointments to go and view a couple of local nurseries but I was wondering if anyone had any pointers on the kinds of things we should be looking for when choosing a nursery?

thanks ladies

Replies

• Word of mouth was a big thing for us. We chose a couple of nurserys to have a look round based upon what other mums recommeded that i spoke to at local baby groups.

From the ones we saw we narrowed it down to those which had the best facilities for the age group my LO was in and then finally chose based on gut instinct from our interaction with the staff.
  • I agree with Pom really. I also looked at the Ofsted reports (being a teacher I can't help it lol). The main reason I chose my nursery was the feeling I got when I visited though - they were answering the questions I asked the way I wanted them too , all the children seemed happy, the facilities were excellent and they still had plans to continue improving them. I kinda knew the minute I walked in.

• I had a look at the local nurseries that had places and then rang them up for a chat. I visited three. Before I went I read the Ofsted reports and wrote a list of questions I wanted to ask.

You need to think about what is important for you. My priorities were that it should be easy for me to get to on the way to work, it should have lots of outside space, they should have the children's best interests at the forefront of their work, it should have very low staff turnover and not too much emphasis on formal learning (although implicit learning is fine eg by asking the older children to count the younger ones in when they've been outside)