Forum home Family life & relationships Family finances
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Any advice please?

Hi,

My hubby and I want to try for a baby beginning in October this year, and the plan is that if I fall by February, we'll let my contract come to an end in August and then I will be unemployed for a while until I'm ready to return either part or full time.

The websites I've been on arent very clear as to what our options are financially and what we'd be able to get, so I thought I'd ask people who have possibly been in the same situation.

My husband works 40 hours a week for a salary of about 15,000, and I have been earning over 20,000 for the past 3 years, but I would go to earning nothing.

Any body any ideas?

Thanks

Gem x

Replies

• Hi.

Sorry, if im being silly here... Are you saying that you would let your contract end in august, therefore not receiving any maternity pay when your baby is born?

I know that some workplaces who offer extra maternity pay on top of statutory maternity pay have in your contract that you must go back to work for them after you finish your leave or pay it back, but i'm pretty sure you would only have to pay back anything extra that they paid on top of smp... Sorry I'm not explaining this very clearly am i?!

I think smp at the moment is around ??123 per week (for the first six weeks its 90% of your average earnings).

If you did decide to end your contract, you would probably be entitled to maternity allowance from the government, which is roughly the same amount as smp.

I believe you would get a fair amount in tax credits, (based on your partner being sole income of 15k) to find out roughly how much you can google "tax credits calculator" and put in your details as if you had already stopped working, and have a newborn baby, to get an idea.