Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy

6 Weeks pregnant and no heart beat

Hi I am new to this but just wanted some advice really. I found out I was pregnant about 4 weeks ago. I went for a scan but all they could see was the yolk sac so they asked me to go back a week later. When I went back they saw the fetal pole and a faint heartbeat, at that scan they told me I was around 5 and a half weeks, but they asked me to go back again another week later so they could check the heartbeat was getting stronger, I went back Tuesday just gone but they could not see a heart beat they could see the fetal pole but no heart beat. They told me to expect to start bleeding over the next coupke of days and if i dont then to ring them and they will book me an appointment to go and get washed out. My question is could they have made a mistake, I would only be 6 weeks could they of just missed the heartbeat even with an internal scan. I know I am probly just clutching at straws and hoping for something that is not going to happen. Any help or advise please.

Replies

• hi there,

im not an expert on this sort of thing by any means, but the other night i was watching a very short programme that mentioned about doctors saying that they cant find heartbeats by mistake!

if i were you hun, i would get a second opinion before they perform any kind of procedure on you whatsoever!

please keep me updated, i hope and pray that all will be OK xxx

• Chances are they will need to perform another scan anyway before the did a procedure so they can see what they're dealing with, if you have any concerns though ask for another scan, if you aren't bleeding etc. There are private scans available as well if thats an option you want to take to put your mind at rest. xx