Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding

Conceiving while still breast feeding

Hi guys,

I'm new on this forum- I'm a graduate from Long term trying to conceive!  My little miracle is now almost 6 months old and I'm loving breast feeding.  We've had to use the odd carton (literally 4 or 5 in total) of formula since I've gone back to work and expressing can be intermittant (sometimes 6 oz, sometimes 3oz!)  Anyway....since it took us 3 years to conceive our dd, I'm keen to start trying again soon (I've been told that my pcos symptoms should be suppressed for some time following treatment and pregnancy, so we might be lucky!)

So what I am interested in, is whether people conceived while still exclusively breast feeding or when their cycles re-started while still BF, but cutting down on feeds when introducing solids etc.  Your stories are very much appreciated!

Love Windy x

Replies

• Hi WindyMiller, great to see you on here. I remember you from LT-TTC as I was on there myself for a while - you gave me some lovely words of encouragement! My little miracle is only 4 weeks so I can't say anything from my own experience about BF and conceiving but I do know that both the mw and GP have emphasised not relying on BFg as a contraception method so there must be people out there who've ovulated while BFg. Does your question mean your periods haven't returned yet? I guess you're close to introducing solids, if you've not already, so that might bring a change.

• Hi Westergille,

Congratulations on your little one!  Its something extra special when you've been through so much to get there, isn't it? Did you get a pink or blue one?

My baby girl is 7 months now and weaning is well underway, but I'm still demand feeding (although back at work, so expressing once a day at work).  I'm not prepared to compromise her need to breast feed to start my cycles again.